

# DISTILLED SPIRITS AOTEAROA (NZ) INCORPORATED

### Chair's Report

#### 1. Membership

- 38 Full Members, 2x of these joined as a response to NZ Spirits Awards (eg. member discount)
- 9 Associate Members, 2x of these as a response to NZ Spirits Awards (eg. sponsorship)

#### 2. Committee

- Formal thanks to the Committee for giving up their significant time and energy in the first 6 months of incorporation.
- Since Incorporation Mr Ben Bonoma, Dancing Sands resigned as Treasurer, and the Chair took over the role as Chair/Treasurer.
- Mr Chris Barlow, Barlovska Craft Liqueurs had been providing invaluable help to the Committee on IT set-up. He accepted an invitation to join the Committee on 29/1/19 and filled the vacant position.
- The total number on the Committee remains at 7. Current Committee Members: Chair/Treasurer - Sue James (Juno Gin); Secretary - Grant Finn (NZ Whisky Company); Rob Auld (Auld Distillery); Maria Grau (Roughhands); Antony Michalik (The Spirits Workshop); Brent Robinson (Batch 10); Chris Barlow (Barlovska Craft Liqueurs).

## 3. Year Highlights -

- Incorporation
  - Early 2018 Two meetings held in Wellington facilitated by Spirits NZ.
    Discussions on the setting up of an industry body to represent the interests of the New Zealand distilled spirits.
  - 14th June 2018 Decision made to officially organise into an association after a meeting in Wellington with an independent facilitator provided by Spirits NZ. Generation of a SWOT analysis, including discussion of relationship with SpiritsNZ overlapping objectives. Sean Whitaker (Reefton Distilling) is Coordinator. Communication goes out to 74 NZ distilleries and individuals.
  - 11 July 2018 first DSA Telecon: Attendees include: Coordinator Sean Whitaker; Claire Iredale (Wild Diamond); Sue James, Dave James, Jo James (Juno Gin); Ben Leggett (Elemental Distillers); Sean Rota (Ariki); Brendan Durant (Spiritual Spirits); Grant Finn (NZ Whisky Company); Rob Auld (Auld Distillery); Mark Atkin (Wildfern); Fritz Kuckuck and Maria Grau (Roughhands); Brent Robinson (Batch 10).
  - 13 July 2018 Small Working Group formed: Working Group Coordinator Sue James (Juno Gin); Grant Finn, NZ Whisky Company; Mark Atkin, Wildfern; Fritz

Kuckuck and Maria Grau, Roughhands; Sean Rota, Ariki; Rob Auld, Auld Distillery; Antony Michalik The Spirits Workshop; Claire Iredale, Wild Diamond; Dave and Jo James (Juno Gin).

- 2 August Mammoth 3-hour review of new Constitution. Mark Atkin (Wildfern) providing invaluable legal advice.
- o 16 August 2018 New Constitution finalised, call for nominations for DSA Committee.
- o 31 August 2018 Election of first Committee Members.
- o 17 September 2018 Incorporation.
- o 19 September 2018 Membership open.
- o 4 February 2019 Vote on priorities.
- Setting up IT platforms
  - $_{\odot}$  22 November 2018 Logo and website provider selected
  - 28 December 2018 First logo discarded due to similarity with the Martini Whisperer.
  - o 22 January 2019 Facebook page live
  - Mid-February 2019 Alternative logos rejected, approaching alternative logo suppliers
  - 1 May 2019 New logo selected
- NZ Spirits Awards
  - Spirits NZ financial support joint interests focus on the promotion of spirits in New Zealand.
  - The inaugural Awards, hosted by industry bodies, Spirits New Zealand and Distilled Spirits Aotearoa, received 254 entries from both local and international distilleries.
  - 41% of overall Awards entries were from New Zealand producers. 221 bronze, silver, gold and double gold medals were won, and 90 of those were awarded to New Zealand distilleries.
- Other Activities
  - o Joint industry letter DSA/SpiritsNZ Pregnancy warning labels
  - DSA submission to NZ Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade on the EU free Trade Agreement.
  - Distribution of a survey link for carbohydrate claims on packaging, for the preparation of a FSANZ – Consultation document.