Skip to main content

Membership Categories & Fees

Organisations and individuals interested in becoming a member need to apply to the DSA Board, specifying the way in which the applicant qualifies for membership. The Board undertakes to review all applications as quickly as possible, usually at the monthly Committee meeting.

Please complete the online application form. Alternatively, you can email for more information

Commercial Member

An individual that owns/works for a distilled spirits product/brand OR an orgnaisation that produces a distilled spirits product/brand that is manufactured in New Zealand. A Commercial Member will be join into one of three categories based on the Litres of Alcohol (LALs) sold in their brands in a calendar year (1 January – 31 December).

Category LAL’s Sold Fee NZD$, EXCL GST
Small 0 – 2,000 LAL’s $350.00+GST
Medium 2,001 – 20,000 LAL’s $750.00+GST
Large 20,001 and above LAL’s $1,000.00+GST

Each Commercial Member receives one vote at an Annual General Meeting or Special General Meeting.

Pre-Commercial Member

Individuals or distilled spirits product/brand which are preparing to enter the market but have not yet completed NZ legal formalities and do not have a product for sale. Pre-Commercial Members are non-voting members of the association.

Fee NZD$150.00+GST

Associate Member

A person or organisation that supports the distilled spirits industry including, but not limited to suppliers to the industry, importers and sellers. An Associate Membership will join into one of two categories.

Category Identified as Fee NZD$, EXCL GST
Individual Consultants or those with an interest in distilling $250.00+GST
Corporate Suppliers, importers and sellers $500.00+GST

Associate Members are non-voting members of the association.

Rules of the Association

By joining DSA, all Members (Commercial, Pre-Commercial and Associate) will agree to abide by the Constitution and By-Laws.